Pocket alternatives in 2026
Pocket is a MagSafe AI voice recorder with a generous free plan. It is a good device. But if you want a wearable instead of a phone accessory, cheaper paid transcription, or a larger and longer-established ecosystem, there are strong alternatives. For most people, our pick is Plaud.
What Pocket is
Pocket is a button-operated recorder that attaches to the back of a phone with MagSafe. Its product page lists three microphones (two studio, one contact), 64GB of storage, a four-day battery, and a free plan with unlimited transcription at standard accuracy. Pro costs $19.99 a month.
Comparison
| Device | Status | How you capture | Audio kept? | Price and plan | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plaud NotePin S (top pick) | On sale | Button press on a pin, clip, lanyard or wristband | Yes, original recording kept; optional encrypted cloud sync | $179. Free Starter plan with 300 min/month; Pro from $8.33/month billed yearly | Wearable capture of meetings and conversations you choose to record |
| Plaud Note Pro (top pick for calls) | On sale | Button press on a card that attaches to your phone | Yes | $189. Same plans as above | Phone calls and larger rooms (four microphones) |
| On sale | Side button; attaches with MagSafe | Yes, on the 64GB device and in the cloud | $129–$139 listed depending on promotion. Free plan; Pro $19.99/month | People who want unlimited standard transcription for free | |
| Omi | On sale | Pendant on a cord, clip or wristband | Not stated on the product page | $129 listed (normally $179). Free plan, no subscription required | Tinkerers who want open-source software |
| Bee | On sale in the US, iOS only | Wristband or clip; press to start and stop | Not stated on the product page | $49.99 | The cheapest way to try wearable capture |
| Limitless Pendant | Not sold since Dec 5, 2025 | Pendant (legacy) | n/a | Was $99 | Existing owners only |
Plaud NotePin S and Plaud Note Pro (our pick)
Plaud is the most widely used option in the category: the company says it has shipped more than two million devices, and its software business passed $100M in annual recurring revenue in 2026, according to TechCrunch. That scale shows up in a mature app, frequent updates, and a wide choice of hardware.
- Wear it or stick it. The NotePin S can be worn as a pin, clip, lanyard or wristband. The Note Pro is a card that rides on the back of your phone, like Pocket, with four microphones for calls and bigger rooms.
- Cheaper paid plan. Plaud Pro is $8.33 a month billed yearly (1,200 minutes a month). Pocket Pro is listed at $19.99 a month.
- Your audio stays yours. The original recording is kept, with optional encrypted cloud sync.
- Free tier included. Every device comes with the Starter plan: 300 transcription minutes a month at no cost.
Omi
A pendant with open-source software you can inspect and run locally. Listed at $129 with no subscription required. A good fit if you like to tinker; less so if you want a polished, finished product.
Bee
Amazon bought Bee in 2025. At $49.99 it is the cheapest entry point, but it is sold only in the US and works only with iOS.
Limitless
The Limitless Pendant has not been sold since December 5, 2025. It is not an option for new buyers.
When to choose Plaud, and when to stay with Pocket
Choose Plaud if
- You want a recorder you can wear, not only one stuck to your phone.
- You plan to pay for advanced transcription and summaries: Plaud Pro costs less per year.
- You record phone calls or larger meetings (Note Pro, four mics).
- You want the most established app and company in the category.
Stay with Pocket if
- You will never pay for a plan and record more than 300 minutes a month.
- You want the lowest upfront price for a phone-mounted recorder.
FAQ
What is the best Pocket alternative?
For most people, the Plaud NotePin S (wearable) or Plaud Note Pro (phone-mounted, four mics).
Is there a Pocket alternative without a subscription?
Yes. Plaud includes a free Starter plan (300 minutes a month), and Omi lists a free plan with no subscription required.
Which is cheaper over a year?
On paid plans, Plaud. See cost breakdown.
Further reading
- Buyer guide: how to pick an AI voice recorder
- Pocket vs Plaud, head to head
- What each one costs over 12 months